I Met Laura Today…

by

128297915513282500dontcraiwell.jpg
more cat pictures

I met my agent today, the Lovely Laura Bradford… and lovely she is! What a wonderful person. Not just because she believes in me even when I don’t believe in myself, but because she whole-heartedly believes in each and every one of her clients to an extent I didn’t realize until today. I won’t go into detail but it was wonderful to be able to meet her in person and get to really know her and how she feels about me, my writing, the industry, and hear examples of how I’m not the only one struggling. I feel like I’ve found a home with her at this agency, and with her other clients. We all get along so well and support one another and not a fake support either… it’s genuine heart-felt support and I love it.

I didn’t get any writing done today because I worked in the a.m., then putzed before getting ready to meet Laura, and then drove to Green Bay to chat it up with her loveliness for over an hour. Arranging to meet Laura while she was in Wisconsin at the WisRWA conference was the wisest decision I’ve made in a long, long time.

I won’t be able to attend the Lori Foster event this year as my oldest son is graduating (Gah! I’m getting old) and won’t be attending any other conferences this year either, so this was my only chance. Next year I’ll be at Lori Foster’s event in Ohio again. I LOVE it there. It’s a relaxed setting and so fun. Laura will be there this year as well as a ton of the Bradford Bunchers. Next year will be a blast!

One Response to “I Met Laura Today…”

  1. Elisabeth Naughton Says:

    So glad you got to meet her! Isn’t she awesome? Sitting down face to face makes all the difference in my book. And yeah, her belief in us is what makes her so unique. I remember sitting with her in Dallas last year and feeling blah because my book had been out for 8 mo. and hadn’t sold yet and I’ll never forget her reaction. She flat out said, “I believe in this book as much if not more than I did when I signed you with it. It’ll sell.” And she was right!

    Keep the faith, Marissa. Laura knows what she’s doing.

Leave a Reply

