Listen up, BICHOK

by

No, I did not just swear (though it sounded kind of mean, huh? ;-)). BICHOK stands for Butt In Chair, Hands On Keyboard.

And you know what? That’s what I’ve been doing. I have forced myself to get over this huge fear of rewriting the beginning of my book. Why did I need to? I couldn’t move on later in the book with it written as it was, so I knew it needed to happen.

Do you know what it feels like to look at 100 single spaced pages and know that a good portion of it is going to change? Gah. INTIMIDATING.

But sometimes you just have to open the document, stare at it in fright for 10 minutes, and put those hands on the keyboard and START. Work through the fear, and find the story again. Yes, it’s changing. Change is scary. But I’ve started. And every time I open that document and change a little more, it still scares me.

But I told that BICHOK I would do it, and so I am.

On a side note, Jaci Burton wrote a lovely post today on the 70 Days of Sweat blog about one of my biggest faults – comparing yourself to other writers. Check it out!

4 Responses to “Listen up, BICHOK”

  1. Marissa Says:

    Yes! I saw Jaci’s post and, dude, I so HEART her. It was a topic that afflicts me daily. I have friends who write a gazillion words a day and I peter out 600? Does that seem adequate? Well, as Jaci pointed out, after working a 12 hour workday, I suppose it does. I had that darn scene in my head and had to get it out. HAD TO. Some days are like that. Others I’m so exhausted that while writing is in my top 5 things I want to do, I just don’t have the oompf. Sigh. But she made me feel good about myself. Very inspiring. I love the Sven blog and challenge. It helps motivate me and sometimes I really need that.

    You are doing great with your MS. GREAT! Remember my rewrites? What number draft am I working on? Ten million? or is it ten million and one? Gah! Go, go, go…. you’re doing awesome!

  2. Lori Says:

    Oh gosh – I love your ms! But if you’re rewriting, I know it must be cause it’ll be even better. Yes, that was a blatant hint that I want to read it again after you rewrite again.

    How are you doin’ hon?

  3. Kate Scott Says:

    I know, Jaci totally rocks.

    Lori – I heart you! LOL. But the beginning needed some work to add some conflict, and I couldn’t continue writing the end part until I had clearly established what happens BEFOREHAND in my head, so I figured I’d just go ahead and set that up. I think it’ll be better. 🙂

    But of course, I’ll send you the revised when I’m done changing. 🙂

  4. jaci burton Says:

    […] I??ve been doing. I have forced myself to get over this huge fear of rewriting the beginning of mhttps://greatscotts.wordpress.com/2008/03/20/listen-up-bichok/Southwest Iowa Prep Track Roundup – April 6 Council Bluffs Daily NonpareilHARLAN – Harlan finished […]

Leave a Reply

