Indecision 2008…

by

No, I’m not talking about the current politics going on (though I did steal the line from the hilarious Jon Stewart’s Daily Show).

Instead, I’m talking about the issue writers face when choosing where to go next or what project to work on next.

I think of this because Marissa has so many ideas in her head, and I think it’s hard for her to choose what the best one is to focus on. It’s hard to decide with a “what I really want to write” combined with “what’s going to sell?”. These are tough, tough decisions, because in all reality, the two may not be the same book. What you’re dying to write now may not be what’s popular right now, what editors are craving right now, or what might eventually sell.

But what if you have two books in your head that you’re dying to write – one you know will sell, and one that MIGHT sell. You’re focused on both, you’re driven to write both, but one keeps talking to you because you really feel this is THE ONE that’s going to make you.

What does this all have to do with me? No, I’m not contemplating my next project like Marissa, as alas, I still have not finished my first one. It’s the direction I need to take my current one. I’m sitting in the middle of the book as I have had no time since October to write at all between the pregnancy, editing, and planning the WCP 5th Anniversary Bash. There’s been NO TIME.

But now I find myself with time. Just a little, but enough that I can make myself write. And I WANT to write, I’m DRIVEN to finish this story. This is what I needed.

But where is my story going? How do I know I’m taking it in the right direction? IS there a right direction? Should I keep it straight contemporary or add suspense? Can I make it long enough with straight contemporary? Should I just shoot for category length and end it there?

This is what I’m going through right now. My very own Indecision 2008. What’s yours? Are you contemplating a change in direction in your work, be it a new story or within a current work?

ETA: I’m not worried about writing for selling right now. I’m just worried about the direction the story’s going. I know it could sell as straight contemp OR suspense, so I’m not thinking of that, but if the story is going ANYWHERE, lol.

5 Responses to “Indecision 2008…”

  1. Marissa Scott Says:

    The only RIGHT place to take the story is where YOU want to take it, where you see it going, because ultimately it is YOUR story. You’re the one telling it. People can give you hints and suggestions as we do when we brainstorm plotting, but in the end it is your choice where you take the reader, which path you lead them down. Trust your instincts. You know what you have to do to make it all that it needs to be.

    Once you finish the first story, unless that sells right away, finding the “right” second one to write is very difficult. I’ve gone through four different ones and they just didn’t seem right. I will finish them at some point, but now I’m on storyline #5 and I think I found the way I need to go, the story I need to tell NOW. So, *crossing fingers* let’s hope it stays that way.

    You CAN do it, Kate. I have faith in you and your abilities. I’ve seen what you write, and it’s fabulous. *HUGS*

  2. Amie Stuart Says:

    The only RIGHT place to take the story is where YOU want to take it,

    Regardless of market!!!!!!! Just because it doesn’t sell doesn’t mean you wrote it wrong or that it won’t sell someday.

    I pretty much already made some directional decissions at the first of the year.

  3. tvaddictgurl Says:

    Oh, I know all about indecision and contemplating a change in direction. I recently decided to change the gender of a main character so I’m going to have to rewrite most of my book. This eliminates the main romance from the book (well I suppose it wouldn’t have to but I don’t think I’d have much luck selling a f/f paranormal romance). It’s daunting to think I have to redo huge sections of the book but I think it’ll be stronger in the long run.

  4. Lori Says:

    I agree with Marissa. And I have to tell you that I love the story the way you’ve written it. I know we had a chat about making it sexier, or making it less sexy, etc. Make it whatever you want it to be – and end it when you feel it should end. Then submit it where it fits. It’s a great story. Trust yourself!

  5. Kate Scott Says:

    Thanks, all. I don’t know why I’m just not confident about the story still, and over halfway through it! LOL. But it’s okay, I’m going to keep plugging along and see where IT takes ME. And edit. And revise. And edit again, LOL.

Leave a Reply

