I had an epiphany today…

by

For some reason, today it just clicked. It doesn’t matter how many words other people are writing.

Yes, yes, I know. Logical, right? People have been saying this to me since I began writing in January, but really, when I see Author A writes about 20K a week, Author B writes 10K a week, and I’m writing what seems like a measly 1-3K a week, it’s intimidating.

Today, reading over the update posts on the new 70 Days of Sweat page, for the first time I saw other writers putting themselves down. Saying that they managed to write a few hundred words, which probably doesn’t look like much compared to other totals, but it’s an improvement.

Heck, since I hadn’t written anything for two weeks, getting anything down was an improvement.

Aaaaaand that’s when it hit me. I write at the speed that I write. This is my first book, and I’m dying to finish it. But you know, some days the words just don’t come. Some days I’m editing and don’t have time. Some days I just can’t put a sentence together though I want to. So for me, I’m lucky if I make a thousand words in a week. Luckier if I can actually manage my goal of 500 words a day.

And today, I’m ok with that. Hopefully it won’t take me another 6 months to finish the darn thing, but if it does, that’s ok. As long as I plug along. As long as I finish it.

9 Responses to “I had an epiphany today…”

  1. Marissa Says:

    You are learning, grasshopper. You can’t compare yourself to someone else, because everyone writes at a different speed, and they have different lifestyles too. For instance, Lauren Dane and I were talking yesterday and she was saying she just finished a novella (another one) and I was like, “You’re a writing machine lately. I wish I could write that fast.” She says back… “You have three jobs” Yes, one of them is writing, but the other two take up 56 hours of my week. So, yeah, she’s right. Even though I’d LOVE to be able to write like she does, as fast as she does, I can’t. Maybe I could if I didn’t work so much, but who knows. Even then maybe not. She writes FAST. I do sometimes, but other times not so much.

    So, while we’d all like to write fast, remember loving sister of mine (as I will try to), that you are YOU. Your life and schedule is like no other, and that means YOU write at YOUR speed. Don’t rush yourself. Take your time, do it at a speed that works for you… YOU and no one else.

  2. Anastice Says:

    Good entry… and true. We can’t compare ourselves to other writers – different lifestyles, different amount of spare time, different responsibilities and different brains!

    Write as much as you CAN, and that’s all any of us can really do. šŸ˜‰

  3. Lauren Dane Says:

    Aww, you quoted me, Marissa!

    And Kate my dumpling, you will never have anyone else’s schedule or life but your own. Write the way you write because that’s all you can do. As long as you’re committed and working when you can, that’s all you can do – right?

    It’s about committment – as long as you’re sitting down and writing, whether it’s one word or a thousand, the point is you’re writing.

  4. amie Says:

    Also…I like to think that sometimes when the words won’t come, it’s because my subconsciou is hard at work on some plot issue or what’s going to happen next. So don’t be so hard on yourself. I’ve got a full time job and two kids (and no husband and belive me I dont mind). You do what you can.

  5. Tempest Knight Says:

    I remember when I also used to get all upset because this or that person wrote a few thousand words per day. Then I realized many didn’t hold full-time jobs which require sometimes to work up to 10 hours daily. So I had to slowly learn that I had my own pace, and it wasn’t any worst than everyone elses.

    So if you can only do 100 words per day. As long as you’re consistent, then pat yourself in the shoulder and feel proud. šŸ˜‰

  6. N.J. Walters Says:

    Comparing yourself to anyone else is the kiss of death. All that matters is you’re writing. Every author writes at a different pace, and the trick is to find what works for you and do it. As long as you’re getting words on the page, you should be pleased with your accomplishment.

  7. Sarah McCarty Says:

    Congratulations on your epiphany!

    The hardest thing to remember in this business is that you are NOT in competition with anyone else and other people’s word counts, sales, rejections, etc have nothing to do with you, your potential for success and your method of writing. .

  8. Kate Scott Says:

    Thanks, all! It’s really one thing to tell yourself this, it’s another to actually believe it. šŸ™‚

  9. jordangrace Says:

    Hi Kate,
    First, I hope you had a great birthday!
    I think all writer’s struggle with this issue but sometimes it can feel like you’re the only one. I beat myself up about this all the time. I admire people who can write so much in one day and it makes me feel less of a writer sometimes. I also am pretty hard on myself and I go to bed with the intention of getting up the next morning and writing eight hours and when it doesn’t happen I feel like I’ve failed. What I have to remind myself is that writing is not just about sitting at the computer and writing. It’s also about working out plots and issues in your mind and heart and that happens away from the computer when you’re washing dishes or watering the plants. The best writing comes with time, time to get to know your characters so well that they talk to you. Then putting what they say to paper is easier.

Leave a Reply

