Survey for Kate – Please respond!

by

I have a few questions about how YOU use MySpace, Ning, and other online communities. Permission to forward to any blogs and groups is granted, but PLEASE send me back the answers, either to the Great Scotts blog or Let’s Gab blog, or to katproof @ gmail.com (no spaces)! Thanks!

1. First off, do you have an account at any online community? Why not, if not?

2. If you do have an account, what do you use the communities for? Promo? Friends? Finding information?

3. What do you like about them?

4. What do you straight-out abhor about them?

5. What do you feel is missing?

6. What else would you like to share about your experience with these online communities?

3 Responses to “Survey for Kate – Please respond!”

  1. Lori Says:

    Hi Kate 🙂

    I’ll be the first…

    1. First off, do you have an account at any online community? Why not, if not?
    I don’t have a personal one (if you’re not including blogs), simply because I have two blogs and no time, and not enough to say with a third. BUT, I do manage hubby’s band’s MySpace and all that goes with that.

    2. If you do have an account, what do you use the communities for? Promo? Friends? Finding information?
    We use the MySpace for band promo.

    3. What do you like about them?
    uh……………..

    4. What do you straight-out abhor about them?
    Seems like a whole lot of time and energy that I could be doing stuff elsewhere. And that kids (I have to use it to keep up with my nephews) could be doing other stuff. LOL – is my age showing? As for the band, he already has a web site, the MySpace is just another damn wen site to maintain.

    5. What do you feel is missing?
    Any true sense of purpose.

    6. What else would you like to share about your experience with these online communities?
    One big pain in the butt. And with a kid who is dying to get on MySpace, all I see in my future is monitoring all his activity there, on top of all the other monitoring of crap in his life I have to do. How’s that?

  2. Lauren Dane Says:

    I’ll answer or Kate will nag me incessantly…

    1. First off, do you have an account at any online community? Why not, if not? Yes, several. Nearly all are from before I started writing and I love the community of friends I’ve built over time.

    2. If you do have an account, what do you use the communities for? Promo? Friends? Finding information?

    I have very strict personal rules about promotion. I don’t belong to groups I only use to promote. If I take the time to belong to something, I like to participate. To talk about the subject of the community – some are politics, some are books and writing, etc.

    3. What do you like about them?

    Personal connection with people.

    4. What do you straight-out abhor about them?

    Dimwits and dumbasses who’ll feel free to give their opinion even if they’re talking out their asses. Oh and drive by promo spammers.

    5. What do you feel is missing?

    “Ignore” functions? Um, in a large community there are always personalities who don’t mesh but if I don’t like a community I don’t stay.

    6. What else would you like to share about your experience with these online communities?

    A lot of people are placebound and feel alone, the web opens up the possibilities and you can meet people from all over the world who share your passions. It makes you feel less alone. I love that.

  3. Kate Scott Says:

    Thanks for the comments Lori and Lauren!

Leave a Reply

