Thursday Thirteen

by

In honor of the new Whiskey Creek Press and Whiskey Creek Press Torrid newsletters which debut this Friday, June 1st, I’ve decided to have this week’s Thursday Thirteen about something near and dear to my heart – what I’ve learned from making the newsletters.

Thirteen Things I’ve Learned From Re-creating the Whiskey Creek Press Newsletters

1. It’s hard using a template when you don’t know a lot of HTML.

2. It’s even harder, in fact impossible, creating it from scratch. Pre-made template it is.

3. Asking a lot of readers and authors what they want leads to a lot of ideas.

4. Asking a lot of people what they want inevitably means you didn’t take suggestions from someone. And you will hear from them about it.

5. While asking for ideas leads to many answers, asking for actual written content for a newsletter often leads to blank faces. And their avoidance of e-mail and IM.

6. Anyone can learn HTML from Google. Just type in HTML, what you want to do, and poof! The first couple of sites will give you the coding. No experience necessary.

7. Yahoo is evil when it comes to newsletters. I put on a pretty pink border and it takes it out. Every time. Maybe next month Yahoo will let me know how it’s possible to keep the prettiness…

8. This is for the HTML nerds: Yahoo doesn’t accept style sheets. So my whole cheat sheet for the newsletters – gone. I had to write fully every time there was a font change, anytime there was a color change, rather than just styling.

9. Yes, I learned about style sheets by Googling. They are geniuses, those Google fairies.

10. Even if you think you can write, writing an article about the goings on at a publisher is intimidating. And if you don’t think you can write? PAIN. πŸ˜›

11. After living in newsletter land for a while, you start joking in HTML. “Haha [/sarcasm]”.

12. Photoshop is your best friend. You can do anything with it. So far I can place an image on a background. And change a font. Oh, the talent.

13. Aaaaaand, shameless plug. The WCP newsletter will be available on the WCP Newsletter Yahoo group (shocker, I know), and the WCP Readers Group. Because of the spicy, hot adult content, the WCP Torrid newsletter will only be available on the Torrid Readers Group. These groups are all low-mail groups, but I will be posting the newsletters on Special Notice, so if you’d like to join and only want to receive the newsletters and important notices, you are more than welcome to do so. πŸ™‚


Links to other Thursday Thirteens!

11 Responses to “Thursday Thirteen”

  1. Jennifer McKenzie Says:

    LOL [/hilarity] Love this. Was I avoiding you? I wasn’t on purpose. Really. LOL.

  2. Tempest Knight Says:

    I love PhotoShop! I can’t live without it. It’s the best thing it has happened to photo editing. Heh! Great TT!

  3. Lori Says:

    Here’s another hot ti for you… Outlook 2007 won’t display a lot of CSS elements either, so be careful what you use. And if you are using any forms (like a search box) in your newsletter, it won’t display those either. Oh, and it won’t display images as backgrounds in tables, either. Fun stuff πŸ™‚

    Yahoo will display your border, though, if you code it correctly my dear πŸ™‚

  4. Heather Says:

    ROFL [/laughter] Love #11!

  5. Kate Scott Says:

    Oh, Lori, them’s fighting words. You tell me how to get the border to stay, I’ll owe you one big one. I put in a border style tag, I tried separating it into multiple border tags – nothing. yahoo just deletes them, damn them!
    Any help would be appreciated, oh goddess of technology.

  6. Rene lyons Says:

    Ah – pretty newsletters. The ban of my existance.

  7. Lorelei James Says:

    Ah, thinking about creating newsletters of any kind make me curl up in the corner and cry……..

    I admire the hell out of you.

    So….you teaching lessons?

  8. Kate Scott Says:

    Lorelei, lol, I think after tomorrow I’ll be an expert on the subject. You ask it, I’ll see if I can answer it. πŸ˜‰

    And if I can’t, then I’ll just do that cool Google thing again…

  9. Michelle M Pillow Says:

    Congrats on the new newsletter!!!

    Michelle
    http://michellepillow.com/authorblog/
    http://ravenhappyhour.com/ravenblog/

  10. Tilly Greene Says:

    And it was perfect! Nice job Kate πŸ™‚

  11. Kate Scott Says:

    Aww, thanks Tilly! *blushing*

Leave a Reply

